My Favorite Albums of 2012

I hope everyone had a great Christmas. I know I did, and it’s not done yet. I’ll see more family tomorrow and Saturday which is nice. I like extending Christmas for almost a week.

Still, it is the time where most people transition from thinking about Christmas to celebrating the new year by reflecting on the year passed. In that spirit, I present to you my favorite albums of 2012:

Matthew Perryman Jones – Land of the Living

I wrote a post (http://craigmcclellan.com/post/24469381750/a-music-recommendation-for-two-artists-named-matthew) about this on my old blog, so I won’t repeat myself. All I can say is my love for this record has only grown since I wrote that in June.

All Sons and Daughters – Reason to Sing EP

This is the second year in a row my list has featured All Sons and Daughters. Their Brokenness Aside EP was one of my top albums of 2011. With 2 EPs released this year, it was difficult to choose which one would choose for this year. The Longing EP is fantastic as well. However, Reason to Sing feels like it sums up my year. It’s title song is about begging God for hope in the midst of struggles. It has been an anthem of mine this year.

With truth that I needed in a beautiful musical package, I have been playing this record a ton this year.

John Mayer – Born and Raised

I’m a huge fan of John Mayer, and have been for about 10 years now. It’s amazing to me how his music tends to evolve as my tastes do. The John Mayer Trio and Continuum records were very guitar-driven, as I was starting my guitar major at Belmont University. Battle Studies was a great pop record, as my pop music obsession was beginning. Now Born and Raised is an amazing folk/singer songwriter album, as songwriting in general and folk music has been my latest musical interest.

The story in “Walt Grace’s Submarine Test January 1967” is particularly brilliant. The ability to paint that vivid of a picture with such few words (that rhyme no less) is something I strive for in my own writing.

Andrew Peterson – Light for the Lost Boy

Again, a post I have already written about this year. I’ll spare repeating and just link you there.

 

 

Mumford and Sons – Babel

Another second time artist on the list. Mumford’s “Sigh no More’ was one of my favorites of 2010. While “Babel” doesn’t move very far away from their first album, that is totally fine with me. When you have 4 members playing the instruments they do, the sound can’t change that much. The writing is still fantastic, and I would listen to Marcus Mumford sing anything.

“Below My Feet” is my favorite track on the record. The half-time chorus at the end of the song is one of the best/most intense musical moments I’ve heard in a long time.

That’s my list for the year. What is yours? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

