Relaunching Embracing the Mess

The death and now resurrection of this blog amuses me to no end because it’s a perfect example of the title Embracing the Mess. I started it with grand hopes, and yet because I couldn’t execute it as exactly as I wanted, I gave up. I didn’t modify it, or try to change. I shut it down because it couldn’t be perfect. Looks like I still have a ways to go.

Even writing this post has been a chore. I wanted the right words (that no one will read I’m sure) to bring the blog back to life. I wanted to be insightful, witty, and sincere. I’ve started countless drafts of this to no avail.

The problem is, I’m not a very good writer. I’m not generally insightful, witty, or sincere whenever I post something in public. That’s not to say I won’t get there. It’s just I have very little practice.

I feel like throughout the last few years, I have probably quoted on various blogs or tweets Katie Herzig’s “Make a Noise.” The chorus simply states:

Find your voice
Make a noise

That’s what I want to do here. Over the last year and a half, I have been learning so much about who I am and what I’m passionate about. I want to share pieces of that. It might look different from day to day, week to week. I might share stories from my own life, art that I think is good, funny videos, I don’t know. But all of it is part of my mess, and part of embracing it is sharing it.

So in the words of Congresswoman Regina Bookman:

“I might not know where I’m going with this, but I know we will get there together!”

Leave a Reply

